CITY OF LAWRENCE Police Merit Commission January 13, 2024 Public Assembly Room Regular Meeting

MEMBERS PRESENT: Charles Wheeler, Karen Horth- Powers, Gail Gartin, and Ronald Christensen

MEMBERS BY MICROSOFT TEAMS: None

MEMBERS ABSENT: Bob Hendrickson

ALSO PRESENT: Amber Baldwin

STAFF PRESENT: Lieutenant Scott Evans

STAFF BY MICROSOFT TEAMS: None

Commission President Wheeler called the meeting to order at 6:04pm and announced a quorum was present.

COMMENTS OF COMMISSION MEMBERS: None

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES:</u> Mr. Christensen moved to approve the minutes of the regular meeting on November 18th. The motion was seconded by Mrs Horth-Powers. Motion passed by unanimous vote.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS: None

NEW BUSINESS: Mr. Wheeler conducted the election of officers for the 2025 term for the Lawrence Police Merit Commission. The floor was opened for nominations for the office of President. Mrs. Gartin nominated Charles Wheeler, and the nomination was seconded by Mrs. Horth-Powers. Charles Wheeler was elected to the office of President by acclamation. The floor was opened for nominations for the office of Vice President. Mrs. Gartin nominated Ron Christensen. No further nominations were presented. Ron Christensen was elected Vice President by acclamation. The floor was opened for nominations for the office of Secretary. Mr. Wheeler nominated Karen Horth-Powers. No further nominations were presented. Karen Horth-Powers was elected Secretary by acclamation.

- Lt. Evans requested to establish an eligibility list for 8 candidates passing background, deemed acceptable continue to the next phase of the hiring process (DVSA, Medical & Psychological Exams). Mrs. Horth Powers moved to deem the recommendation be approved. The motion was seconded by Mrs. Mr. Christensen. Motion passed by unanimous vote.
- Lt. Evans requested that 6 candidates deemed unacceptable be removed from the process. Mrs. Gartin moved to deem the request to be approved. The motion was seconded by Mr. Christensen. Motion passed by unanimous vote.
- Lt. Evans requested to provide Conditional Offers of employment to 8 applicants having the highest score (in order) and is still of "good character". Mrs. Horth-Powers moved to deem the request approved. The motion was seconded by Mr. Christensen. Motion carried by unanimous vote.
- Lt. Evans requested those applicants passing an updated background investigation and passing all requirements of the INPRS 1977 Fund, become Probationary Officers to fill vacancies within the Department. Mrs. Gartin moved to deem the request approved. The motion was seconded by Mr. Christensen. Motion passed by unanimous vote.

COMMENTS FROM CHIEF OF POLICE:

Thanked the Merit Commission for everything they continue to do for the Police Department and Congratulations on everyone's 2025 appointments.

CITIZEN COMMENTS: None

ADJOURNMENT: There being no further business to come before the Commission, the meeting was adjourned 6:10pm, by unanimous vote of the Commission.	
Charles Wheeler, President	Amber Baldwin, Executive Assistant

These minutes are not intended to be verbatim. They are a summary of discussions held, except for the motions.